Le temps des sucres/Sweet Sap of Spring

Aujourd’hui je vous présente une peinture à l’huile de mon père qui illustre une des traditions du printemps au Québec. La visite à la cabane à sucre faisait partie intégrale du début du printemps. Ayant un certain âge, lors de mes visites en enfance, toust se  faisait à la façon traditionnelle.

The  annual sugar shack visit was a family outing that was anticipated during the long winter. I lost the habit of going once my son was no longer a child, but returned this week to delight in the food, the ambience and the people.

Cette peinture m’était offert par mon père quand j’ai aménagé mon premier appartement. Il l’a peint plus de 40 ans aprés l’original. La première était toute petite et il l’avait donné à ma marraine.

I had coveted  the original painting everyday at my Grandmother’s and was surprised when he presented me with mine. In the past 15 years he changed medium to watercolour. His paintingss continued to illustrate the beauties of our great country, especially in his gentle landscapes and seascapes.

Son art servait pour plus qu’un divertissement, ça exprimait ses sentiments les plus profondes. Âgé de 94 ans et atteint du syndrome post-polio, mon père est maintenant très affaibli. Son  dernier aquarelle lui a pris plus d’un an, mais il fallait la finer car c’était pour son petit-fils. Le sujet du cadeau de félicitations pour son petit fils, l’acteur, était une cabane à sucre.

Sugaring off traditions encompass maple syrup and food but also joyful family reunions. This first harvest of the new year awakens hopes for all the harvests of the year. The running sap reminds us that this product requires Winter and Spring  conditions for a bountiful harvest.The complimentary collaborative interplay between freezing and sun guides us to reflect on the new season , on the gifts each has to offer.

J’ai maintenant les 2 peintures à l’huile et mon neveu a l’aquarelle du temps des sucres. C’est le seul thème que mon père à traité trois fois. Pour lui ça doit aussi évoquer de bons souvenirs!

My dad has always  been a role model – to the disabled and able bodied, the young and the old. He continues to be interested in those he has mentored. He was one of the founders of the St Patrick’s Art Group (seniors). He is thrilled that they have a month long exhibit at the Cote St Luc library and looks forward to the big annual show, April 17. Hopefully i Will havé te watercolours with sugaring  off themes. I hope to see you .

2 thoughts on “Le temps des sucres/Sweet Sap of Spring

Leave a Reply

