Use your Marbles Creatively / Prévention avec de la créativité

IMG_4924 (2)It was a joy to be back doing watercolours with my group at St Patrick’s square yesterday. We were working on an exercise on negative space, where we defined objects by painting background features. It was a seemingly simple concept to arrive at a complex figure.

Qu’est-ce que on peut accomplir en commençant avec un fond? Eh bien, des formes complexes! Le sujet était des marbres de différentes tailles et couleurs dans un bocal. Au début, l’image ne me plaisait peu car il y avait trop de rondeurs. J’ai donc choisi de mettre mes marbres dans une vase.

Stepping slightly out of the framework, I chose to paint my marbles in an elongated vase rather than a rounded jar. It was not very deviant, but it ended up fortuitously. The marbles became the anchor for branches with berries.

Lorsqu’on voit mourir un être très cher de démence, on y pense à ce qu’on peut faire pour ne pas y arriver nous-même. Mon aquarelle me parle de la prévention, de garder nos dons et notre intelligence ensemble  et de les utiliser régulièrement pour faire de quoi, pour inventer, pour donner plaisir et pour laisser la place à la créativité.

Keeping my marbles will be my new quest, following my mom’s death. The watercolour subject evoked a different response in me. I chose not to follow the directions to the letter, using a vase and adding to the subject. In the painting, most of the marbles are in the vase. (Yes, a few have escaped, but let’s be realistic, I am no longer 20!) The marbles cause reflections and nudge against one another, but they also support the twigs and berries. They are functional in a creative way. The colours serve to delight the eye and the shapes are pleasingly similar yet different. They speak to me of my different facets, abilities and failings; but they also tell of the variability of humankind and nature.

Aujourd’hui c’est le bon moment pour réfléchir sur la diversité, la créativité et tout le bon qui me reste à vivre. D’après-tout, c’est bientôt l’action de grâces. Comme on est béni avec tous les biens de notre pays, incluant tous ces gens qu’on aime.

Yes, I am thankful that I still have some marbles to play with. I will not dwell on those which got away. This Thanksgiving I will consider all I have and how I can better put them to the service of all. I am thankful to you all who take the time to read these ideas. I hope you will have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

