En fleur, enfin. Flowers

IMG_2918 (3)IMG_2980

Quoiqu’on soit encore en plein hiver avec des froids et vents à ne plus finir, chez moi il y a de l’espoir. Pas des fleurs coupées, forcées dans un pays lointain. Non, une plante chez moi qui porte aujourd’hui 2 fleurs. Les orchidées  ne fleurissent que rarement une deuxième fois de mon expérience  à date.

It may still be full winter with bone chilling temperatures and winds, but in my living room, my orchid has given me an unexpected but most welcome gift. After a long lull of 18 months, my plant started to produce a flowering stem. I wondered what shook it up, shocked it into re-flowering. And then it came to me. FÉLIX. My kitten had knocked the pot on the floor several times and the soil was spilt everywhere. Now I wonder whether FÉLIX ought to have been thanked rather than scolded!

Le chaton qui aime découvrir tout avait réussi à faire tomber le pot plusieurs fois. Je  pense que ce dérangement de terre a porté fruit. La plante a eu peur et s’est mis à fleurir! Que ça soit FÉLIX ou autre raison, j’ignore, mais les belles fleurs me rendent heureuse et me font songer au sol rouge de mon jardin à IPE.

It all ends in hope…hope of digging into the red soil of PEI and of soon seeing the bulbs pushing forth the crocuses and tulips. Yes soon is a relative term!


 

Leave a Reply

