Kings Co Farmers’ Market Le Marché de la Vielle Station

Image

The mission of farmers’ markets could include providing organic produce, selling locally grown foodstuffs, encouraging local economies, to cultivating community spirit. Much has been written about the first three, so today I’d like to make a few remarks on the last one.

Un marché, une collectivité permet d’offrir des produits organiques ou naturels, de vendre de la nourriture produite localement, d’augmenter l’économie locale et d’améliorer les liens de communauté.  J’aimerais glisser mes observations sur ce dernier, sachant que surement il y en a d’autres que j’ignore.

Je ne suis pas un experte en élevage de vaches et poules ni un économiste ni un agri culturiste. Je suis un membre de cette belle collectivité à Cardigan, l’île-du-Prince-Édouard. Dans la pièce des arts et le coin des artisans, on retrouve mes aquarelles. J’en ai également des cartes de souhaits à vendre. J’y suis depuis 2 ans. On m’a accepté comme vendeur parce que je me suis proposée et parce que je passe 6 mois de l’année dans la communauté. Pas très exigeant, n’est-ce pas?

I am no expert. I am not a professional artist. However, the merchants have opened wide the welcome for me to display my watercolours since last summer. Cardigan is a delightful town and the old CN train station serves as a quaint but functional place to house artisans and local food producers.

Enjoying this idyllic corner of the world for six months a year, I may always be considered as being ‘from away’ but the warmth of friendships among vendors belies such a distinction. We have an opportunity to build community, to bolster each other on days when clients are few and help out when there are many. Listening to each other, the web of caring and concern is extended. Whether I sell few or many watercolours this year is actually immaterial. I have been fortunate to find that precious jewel of a retirement situation: a cottage pastime that I can share with visitors in the company of caring, genuine people from Kings Co. Who knows, maybe you will drop in to visit us on a Wednesday to Saturday to sample a variety of foodstuffs and crafts in Cardigan!

Faire du bénévolat dans un tel climat est agréable et convient à ma personnalité extravertie. Les membres de la collectivité m’ont accueilli comme membre et non pas comme étrangère. (Certes je passe plus de temps à l’île qu’un certain Sénateur, mais ici je serais toujours ‘from away’) Je fais des liens d’amitié et je retrouve des gens sympathiques prêts à partager leurs connaissances et leurs histoires avec moi. Définitivement ma passion d’aquarelles m’a amené à construire un nouveau réseau communautaire à ma retraite! Peut-être on va se voir une journée de marché (mercredi à samedi) à Cardigan au jardin du Golfe.

2 thoughts on “Kings Co Farmers’ Market Le Marché de la Vielle Station

Leave a Reply

