Retirement Colours la couleur de la retraite

I  remember my dad with a painting always in progress. After all, he did graduate from l’ école des Beaux-Arts and Sullivan commercial art school. Though he did not make his living from it for long, art remained his refuge.His emotions and life hurdles could be read by the colours he chose: the deeper and darker the blue, the harder things were.

Mon père a toujours été créatif. Il a fait les plans pour plusieurs immeubles au camp pour les enfants handicapés. Il a choisi les fleurs pour les jardins. Mais c’était surtout avec son art qu’il éxprimait ses émotions, ses peines et ses joies. En veillisant il a combattu l’idée de la retraite. S’il aura pu, il aura utilisé que le noir. Mais il s’est laissé emporté dans une autre direction-la fondation d’ un groupe d’art pour les aînes.

He was not one who embraced retirement. It was something he fought against. At the beginning he barricaded himself in endless meetings, on boards and on organizations. One of these was an art group for seniors which he co-founded. It welcomed people with experience and those who had never held a paintbrush. The St  Patrick’s  art group is still going strong after 25 years. And so is he. He continues to paint watercolours daily. My dad is 91 and suffers from the progressive weakness of post-polio syndrome. Many are privileged to have his works hanging on their walls. One of his favorites keeps me focused on my PEI roots. His paintings grace the homes of North Americans, Europeans, South Americans and Asians. Now that is a wash that extends!

Le groupe d’art St Patrick souligne son 25ème anniversaire en 2013 et mon père fait de l’aquarelle à tous les jours encore. Et ça à 91 ans et avec les sequelles importantes du syndrome de post-polio. Ses ouevres se trouvent dans tous les coins du monde. Un qui m’a offert est de mon coin de detente, l’île du Prince Edouard (PEI) Il me dit que c’est son préferé.006

Launching 2002

Sharing his passion is another way his talent has extended. Retirement has afforded me the opportunity to be a member of the art group. I have learned that years of observation have  trained my eye in composition. The support of the group and inspiration of the artist/teachers and other courses have permitted me to move into this new creative endeavour, one in which I get completely lost. I  guess retirement is all about getting lost in the deep recesses of who we are, to discover aspects previously hidden, to dare to bring them to light and to give them form and colour.

En enseignant, il partage sa passion et ses techniques. Avec ma retraite précoce, j’ai eu la chance de me joindre au groupe d’art. Avec le support du groupe et l’enseignment des artistes/prof et des cours ailleurs,  j’avance sur ce chemin d’exploration en entrant au plus profond de moi-même. C’est peut-être un avantage important de la retraite- d’avoir le temps de se laisser aller afin de découvir ce qu’on a caché et d’oser l’amener à la lumière en le donnant forme et couleur. Mes peintures porte ma  signature, mais l’influence majeur sera toujours de mon père.

014

Parting Petals 2012

Noëlla

3 thoughts on “Retirement Colours la couleur de la retraite

Leave a Reply

